Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

How to model compression?

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi All,

The set up for the model is a thin wire entering a block of material. The wire is already inserted to a certain depth. I am trying to determine if a compressive force is applied to the top of the wire, at what depth the wire will no longer buckle. I keep getting an error when trying to run the Study which says: The mass matrix is zero. I am a novice with COMSOL and looking for any sort of suggestions or advice.

The COMSOL parameters are currently using a Solid Mechanics platform with a point load defined and a linear buckling step. The mesh was only applied to the wire.

Any suggestions?
Thank you!
Amanda

3 Replies Last Post May 25, 2011, 10:55 a.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago May 24, 2011, 1:32 a.m. EDT
Hi

a mass matrix = 0 is for em a poorly defined model, you are missing something in the BCs to correctly define our PDE such that you have an unique solution

For me the easiest with buckling is to use the security factor you get from a eigenfrequency buckling analysis, in your case you must probably parametrise it to see how the bucking factor changes with the penetration depth, from what I understand

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi a mass matrix = 0 is for em a poorly defined model, you are missing something in the BCs to correctly define our PDE such that you have an unique solution For me the easiest with buckling is to use the security factor you get from a eigenfrequency buckling analysis, in your case you must probably parametrise it to see how the bucking factor changes with the penetration depth, from what I understand -- Good luck Ivar

Posted: 1 decade ago May 25, 2011, 9:58 a.m. EDT