Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Post-processing Results

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello everyone!

I am very new to the COMSOL interface.. so I could really use some help.

I'm solving 16 PDE's (Coefficient form PDEs) with 16 dependent variables over a spacial 1D domain of 27 finite elements. The total number of degrees of freedom solved for is 3216 and the solution was completed in about 2 minutes. Now I have 2 issues I am unable to figure out .

1. When I view my results I can only see the plot for 1 of the dependent variables over the distance 'x'. Where can I pick the other variables that I want a plot of?

2 (And this is a little more complex). While solving the 16 PDE's, I gave the value of the source term for each of the 16 equations as zero. Now what I need to do is run an iterative loop that will make the source term for each of the equations equal to a weighted sum of the dependent variables [i.e, the sum of (a constant for each variable times the variable itself)] and solve the whole bunch of equations again. This process has to be repeated till the solutions to the variables converge ( just say for 100 iterations)

I am given to understand that both of these can be done by postprocessing on COMSOL.
Am i right? Does anyone know how to do the stuff I have just explained?

Also : I have tried to explain the problem in a way that is easiest to understand. Please reply back with any doubts you may have about my question.

Thanks.

-Nikhil Shankar

2 Replies Last Post Jun 6, 2011, 1:09 p.m. EDT

Posted: 1 decade ago Jun 3, 2011, 3:20 p.m. EDT