Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Multiphysics Organic Photovoltaic IV characteristic Simulation

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear all,

I am currently working on a project relating to Organic Photovoltaic cell (using polymer). I would like to simulate the IV characteristic of the cell. However, I am unsure which physics model should I use. I am currently using Semiconductor Model. But I think it might not be right.

Please Help!

thanks

1 Reply Last Post May 15, 2019, 3:49 a.m. EDT

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Posted: 5 years ago May 15, 2019, 3:49 a.m. EDT
Updated: 5 years ago May 15, 2019, 3:50 a.m. EDT

Hi, I am doing my PhD thesis on this very topic.

You can use the semiconductor module, but at our lab we simply use :

• a Poisson equation for the electrostatic potential
  • a coefficient form PDE for the electron continuity equation,
  • a coefficient form PDE for the hole continuity equation,
  • a coefficient form PDE for the exciton diffusion equation
  • a weak form PDE for the CT states

This way we have more control over how we set-up our model, which is nice because organics sometimes do not conform well to the well-known semiconductor models.

Recently we have been using the semiconductor module to add an external circuit easily, but that can be done through global equations too.

Best, Alexis