Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Periodic flow

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi

Please help me to resolve this problem. I am new to COMSOL. Urgent

How to introduce a periodic flow in a inlet. Let say my geometry is just a rectangle with one side as inlet.

Thanks in advance.
Praveen

4 Replies Last Post Jan 10, 2012, 2:03 a.m. EST
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Jan 6, 2012, 10:13 a.m. EST
Hi

if you look at the physics, simple inlet and outlets are similar so you can also flow "out" of an inlet. But often its more than just a flow BC one need to adapt, i.e. a fixed temperature that changes etc, or you have laminar buildup regions with their own pressure drops and more parameters to adapt.

My way (if I do not use Matlab to command and define my full simulation) is to have two sets of BCs, and then I manually enable and disable them while I manually switch and run my solver in their respective sequence, while I link any new solver initial values to the last result of the previous one.

The manual way takes a little time, but if it's for a "once shot" its not that long. I nice Matlab script is cleaner but can take longer to set up.

One way to get there reasonably quick is to make your model in the GUI, clean it (File reset model) and save it as a .m file, then edit and adapt the .m file

--
Good luck
Ivar