Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

importing *.sat file

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello to everyone,

I am trying to import CAD module *.sat file into the Comsol Multiphysics v3.5a. But while loading the model I get a following warning:
"The input entity-list is either too large or too small. Consider applying appropriate length unit."

As I am new in working with COMSOL Multiphysics, I don't get any idea how to solve this problem.

Please let me know your suggestions,

Thank you very much in advance

7 Replies Last Post Jan 21, 2010, 4:54 a.m. EST
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Nov 3, 2009, 2:56 a.m. EST
Hi

CAD formats are tricky issues, I can only suggest to get the volume/geometry in another format, try parasolid (.x_t or .b_t) or step; or IGES or DXF if in 2D (the latter should be generated by a recent Autocad software, as earlier DXF as well as many dxf like programmes are rather poor on how the close "polylines")

Good luck
Ivar
Hi CAD formats are tricky issues, I can only suggest to get the volume/geometry in another format, try parasolid (.x_t or .b_t) or step; or IGES or DXF if in 2D (the latter should be generated by a recent Autocad software, as earlier DXF as well as many dxf like programmes are rather poor on how the close "polylines") Good luck Ivar

Posted: 1 decade ago Jan 19, 2010, 7:25 a.m. EST
Hi

Hm.. so you're saing that .dxf I can use only for 2d images???

But I can create 3d .dxf and CADviewers see it as 3d image... but comsol didn't understend it as 3d and somehow converts into 2d...

Do I have any chances to use 3d .dxf for COMSOL?

thx