Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Deformation of an agar surface

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello alll,

I'm new to comsol and i am wanting to use it to model the deformation of a disk of agar by a small force being applied to the underside of the disk by a piece of plastic. The plastic is a square in shape and is smaller in diameter than the disk of agar.

So far i've identified that i can set the material parameters for both the plastic and the agar and also that i can place them in space so that they are initally directly touching, with the plastic being below the agar and they are boith centered around x,y,z=0. I've also read about making the two structures into an assembly with contact regions (but i'm not sure exactly if this is needed for my simulation).

I was wondering if anyone can help me with any advice about how to progress next with this simulation. I now need to input that 1. the square of plastic is moved in the postive z direction by 3mm as so the impose a force on the agar and deform it and 2. i need to put in boundary conditions so that the sides of the agar remain fixed at z=0 so that only the middle regions of the agar is moved by the square of plastic.

Sorry if this all sounds a bit confusing and hopefully someone can help!

Cheers

Paul

1 Reply Last Post May 21, 2019, 11:01 a.m. EDT

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Posted: 5 years ago May 21, 2019, 11:01 a.m. EDT