Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

simulate temperature rise due to current flow in copper track

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi all

I am new to COMSOL and I would like to simulate the temperature rised of a short and straight copper track on PCB due to current flow. How should I start with? I have a fixed voltage and current to apply on it.

Does using solely the joule heating physics sufficient to simulate this? I can see that there is electric current -> electric potential for me to enter the voltage but no where to enter the current. How am I suppose to simulate this?

Thanks
Ron

9 Replies Last Post Feb 15, 2012, 2:00 a.m. EST

Posted: 1 decade ago Feb 10, 2012, 1:20 p.m. EST
Try this as an example model file

www.comsol.com/showroom/gallery/8577/

It will at least get you started.
Try this as an example model file http://www.comsol.com/showroom/gallery/8577/ It will at least get you started.

Posted: 1 decade ago Feb 11, 2012, 7:34 a.m. EST
I have come to here so far and could not get it work any further. I would like to apply 0.5V and 4.15A to the copper. How can I continue it? Attached is the model.

Thanks
Ron
I have come to here so far and could not get it work any further. I would like to apply 0.5V and 4.15A to the copper. How can I continue it? Attached is the model. Thanks Ron

Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Feb 11, 2012, 8:09 a.m. EST
Hi

Your model is slightly strange ;) first of all your air is underneath the copper ?, this is probably not correct, I would have not aded any "air" and replace it by a surface convective heat loss of some 2-4 [W/m^2/K].