Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Fluid embedded in Solid cylinder

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear All,

I hope this finds you well.

I'm new to comsol and im trying to do get a deflection of a cylinder which has a fluid inside.

The system is as the following:

1. Cylinder with a cavity
  2. this cavity will be filled with an oil
  3. cylinder will be fixed from the bottom face
  4. a force of 200N is applied on the upper face
  5. hence, the fluid and the system is squeezed
  6. I will get the displacement on the upper surface
  7. I will run the simulation for multiple times but with different viscosities of oil to see the effect on the deflection

I managed to put the force and the fixation and so on. but I failed to add the fluid.

May I know how to accomplish this simulation correctly? I can add the solid mechanics part easily. Geometry is ready as well. My concern is with the fluid part only.

Waiting for your feedback.

Many Thanks.

- A figure is attached for illustration

2 Replies Last Post Nov 30, 2020, 4:26 a.m. EST
Dave Greve Certified Consultant

Posted: 3 years ago Nov 29, 2020, 1:22 p.m. EST

Have a look at

https://www.comsol.com/model/hyperelastic-seal-206

(keeping in mind that your problem is simpler, as the cylinder is not hyperelastic).

Physically I would not expect the solution to depend on viscosity, only on the fluid compressibility.

Have a look at https://www.comsol.com/model/hyperelastic-seal-206 (keeping in mind that your problem is simpler, as the cylinder is not hyperelastic). Physically I would not expect the solution to depend on viscosity, only on the fluid compressibility.

Posted: 3 years ago Nov 30, 2020, 4:26 a.m. EST

Thanks for your reply.

I have seen this example and it did not help me that much in my problem.