Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Parallel Plate Capacitor

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

This is my first time using Comsol. My project is to model the capacitance of a system with the dimensions as follows:
Top Electrode: 2e-3m x 2e-3m x 100e-9m
Silicon Substrate: 2e-3m x 2e-3m x 2e-6m
Gap: 1e-6m
Bottom plate: 3.5e-3m x 3.5e-3m x 2e-6m
Bottom Electrode: 3.5e-3m x 3.5e-3m x 100e-9m.

Because Comsol cannot automatically mesh over these dimensions, I decided to reduce the system down into something Comsol could mesh first. Then I would build the 2e-3 and 3.5e-3m dimensions from this smaller one.
These dimensions are:
Top/Bottom Electrodes: 1e-4m x 1e-4m x 100e-9m
Top/Bottom Substrates: 1e-4m x 1e-4m x 2e-6m
Gap: 1e-6m

I managed to get Comsol to solve this system by following the documentation for the Capacitive 3D Comb Drive:
file:///C:/COMSOL35/doc/mems/wwhelp/wwhimpl/common/html/wwhelp.htm#href=memsactuatormodels.18.4.html&single=true

When I try to add another version of the above system by using Copy+Paste, the array tool, or the mirror tool, Comsol will not mesh this structure either (Error 4100). I tried using the "Interactive Meshing" feature and meshed each boundary, but then I get Error 7067: System Matrix is 0.

I would appreciate any help and suggestions anyone has... I've been stuck on this problem a while.

4 Replies Last Post Jun 18, 2012, 1:53 p.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Jun 14, 2012, 1:01 a.m. EDT
Hi

when you have such thin layers, the best is to use "surface thin" boundaries, as if you want to know something about what happens inside the 3D thin layers you must mesh them with 3 or more elements in the thickness, and your RAm and solving time explodes

check the doc

--
Good luck
Ivar