Simulate a simple Sedimentation process in a vertical cylindrical tube.

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello, Comsol community. I'm new to the software and I'm slowly learning how to manipulate and extract information from simulations. I'm in a scientific initiation that involves Sedimentation. I would like to learn how to simulate a Sedimentation process in Comsol to further enhance my research. What tips could you give me?

Thank you!

1 Reply Last Post Mar 11, 2024, 4:02 p.m. EDT
Jeff Hiller COMSOL Employee

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Posted: 2 months ago Mar 11, 2024, 4:02 p.m. EDT
Updated: 2 months ago Mar 11, 2024, 3:57 p.m. EDT

Hello Gabriel,

As I have no expertise whatsoever in sedimentation, I can only answer your question in a general fashion, at the risk of telling you things you already know. With that out of the way...

The first thing I would do is ask myself is "what am I trying to get out of the simulation?". Is it a trend between some of the inputs and some of the outputs? Is it the actual value of certain outputs?

The answer to that question will typically suggest various equations and sets of equations that could be solved by the model to yield the outputs you need. Some will be simpler to implement and solve than others; some may be in one dimension (or even algebraic), others may be in 2 or 3 dimensions.

Unless you have a very specific reason to do otherwise, start with the simplest equation (or set of equations) in the lowest dimension. No reason to make your own job more difficult than it needs to be.

Does that simplest equation (or set of equations) match an equation (or set of equations) that comes implemented on one of the ready-made COMSOL physics interfaces? If so, use that physics interface. If not, use one of the interfaces in the "Mathematics" branch of the Model Builder in COMSOL to implement that equation (or set of equations).