Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Comsol-elementary question

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I'm new to comsol and I'm trying to model the flow of three spheres connected by two movable rods in a stationery fluid. There is relative motion between the spheres as the rods move to and fro.
I'm trying to analyze the motion of this sphere-rod system in the fluid.
How do I make the fluid stationery while the rods move? Do I model the rods as walls with slip condition? If I do that, how do I make the sphere move along with the corresponding rod?

9 Replies Last Post Apr 22, 2012, 11:42 p.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Apr 12, 2010, 3:01 p.m. EDT
Hi

I would suggest to start "easy", although mixing 2 physics like that is already challenging, particularly if you are a beginner, but its good to have challenging goals, at least so long you do not despair.

So I would start just with one, two, three spheres, forget the rods and the fluid to begin with, and find the way to enforce linear motion of the two external spheres, if they are moving in a symmetric way, you could consider just one half, by symmetry (calculates quicker, and is hence easier to debug in the beginning, one can always mirror the geometry later and continue with a full model). Then should youattach them with a "spring" to allow oscillations and harmonic analysis.

Once comortable with these simpler models (stationary, transient and harmonic), then only add the fluid and continue wit coupled physics.

A nice project you have there

Have fun Comsoling
Ivar