Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Symmetric meshing

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear all,

I'd like to learn if it is possible to have symmetry axis in mesh. I'm working on a 3D model, and the geometry is symmetric in both x and y axis. I'm studying on eigenfrequency analysis and I'd like the mesh to be symmetric in x-axis only.

To be more clear, I don't expect to see symmetric results for all mode shapes of course but when the mode shape is known to be symmetric by analytical means I want to see a more realistic illustration of it.

Thanks,
Utku

6 Replies Last Post Nov 25, 2017, 8:19 a.m. EST

Posted: 9 years ago Apr 29, 2015, 7:47 p.m. EDT
This is a really good question. With another package I've used this would happen by meshing the half-structure, then reflecting the meshed structure to generate a new meshed structure where the mesh was thus guaranteed symmetric to numerical precision. Is it possible to reflect after meshing?
This is a really good question. With another package I've used this would happen by meshing the half-structure, then reflecting the meshed structure to generate a new meshed structure where the mesh was thus guaranteed symmetric to numerical precision. Is it possible to reflect after meshing?

Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 9 years ago Apr 30, 2015, 1:22 a.m. EDT
Hi

have you really checked all mesh options/sub-nodes ?

You have thereunder copy mesh with or without mirror functions, no ?
COMSOL add new features for each release, so "my way" is to regularly click on all sub nodes and check that I remember all options down to the last leaf

--
Good luck
Ivar