Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

heat transfer coefficient

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi
I am an Electrical Engineer and I am not much familiar with heat transferring issues. I have a structure made of silcon and silica and I need to know how does it dissipate heat. In the martial property I have to set "heat transfer coefficient" and I don't know what is that and even there isn't any littérateur on heat transfer coefficient of silicon or silica. Can anybody give me some idea?

Thanks
Faraz

2 Replies Last Post Mar 11, 2011, 1:27 a.m. EST

Posted: 1 decade ago Mar 10, 2011, 6:13 p.m. EST
Heat transfer coefficient is not a property of the material, but of everything around it. If the air around your boundary is very stagnant, the coefficient may be 5-10 W/m^2/K. If it is moving fast, as in blown over by a CPU fan, it may be higher, perhaps around 50-100 W/m^2/K

Hope this helps.

Ozgur

Hi
I am an Electrical Engineer and I am not much familiar with heat transferring issues. I have a structure made of silcon and silica and I need to know how does it dissipate heat. In the martial property I have to set "heat transfer coefficient" and I don't know what is that and even there isn't any littérateur on heat transfer coefficient of silicon or silica. Can anybody give me some idea?

Thanks
Faraz